Rodeo Announces 2023 Leadership

by | Jun 2, 2022 | Press Release

The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo board of directors met Thursday, June 2, to elect new leadership for the 2023 Rodeo, set for Feb. 28 – March 19.



Brady F. Carruth was re-elected as chairman of the board for his third year. He serves as president of Gulf Coast Capital Corp. Carruth joined the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo in 1970, and in 1982, he joined the Lamb Auction Committee, becoming the committee chair in 1996. He was elected to the board of directors in 1991. In 1998, he was appointed a Rodeo vice president, serving as officer in charge of the Ladies’ Go Texan, Ladies’ Season Box, School Art, Special Children’s and Western Art committees. Carruth has been a member of the Rodeo’s Executive Committee since 2013. His father, Allen H. “Buddy” Carruth, was a Rodeo president and served as chairman of the board from 1979 to 1981. His mother, Ethel Carruth, was a past chair and passionate supporter of the Rodeo’s School Art Committee. Read Full Biography 


Pat Mann Phillips


Pat Mann Phillips was elected as the chairman of the board elect for 2023 and will work closely with Chairman of the Board Brady Carruth. She will become eligible for chairman of the board for the 2024 Rodeo. She first joined the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo in 2001, and has volunteered with the Corral Club – Suites, Directions & Assistance, Jr. Rodeo, and Special Children’s committees. In 2009, she was the founding chair of the Tours Committee and was integral in laying the groundwork for the committee’s continued success today. Phillips was elected to the board of directors in 2012 and served as a Rodeo vice president from 2016 to 2018, overseeing the efforts of the Transportation, Magazine, Special Children’s, Agriculture Education (formerly Ladies’ Go Texan), Souvenir Program, and Communications & Special Services committees. In 2018, she was elected to serve on the Executive Committee. Read Full Biography 



The Executive Committee includes the chairman of the board, chairman of the board elect, the past chairmen of the board for each of the immediately preceding nine years, and at least five members who are elected at large from the board of directors.


  • Warner Ervin
  • Ray Hinsley
  • J.P. “Hap” Hunnicutt
  • Parker Johnson
  • Kelly J. Larkin, M.D.
  • Pat Mann Phillips
  • Wesley Sinor
  • Robbie Smith
  • Joe Van Matre

Non-elected members (past presidents and chairmen of the board)

  • Jim Bloodworth
  • Don D. Jordan
  • Jack A. Lyons
  • R.H. “Steve” Stevens
  • Jim Winne

Lifetime members:

  • Don A. Buckalew
  • Tilman J. Fertitta
  • Wayne Hollis
  • Ed McMahon
  • Chris Richardson
  • Charles R. “Butch” Robinson
  • John O. Smith
  • Paul G. Somerville
  • Keith A. Steffek
  • James M. “Jim” Windham



The board re-elected Dr. Chris Boleman, president and CEO; Sherry Hibbert, general counsel and corporate secretary; and elected Katie Grahmann, chief financial officer and corporate treasurer for 2023.


Vice presidents, elected for one-year terms, serve as officers in charge, supervising the activities of the Rodeo’s more than 35,000 volunteers serving on 110 different committees.

Newly elected:

Wendy Lewis Armstrong
Director, Internal Audit, Noble Drilling Corp
Ginger Brown
Director, Gas Scheduling, Cheniere Energy
John Grimes
Chief Operating Officer, LBC Houston LP
Robert Hodge
Upstream Portfolio Lead, Exxon Mobil
Rick Jones
Marine Marketing Consultant, Self-Employed
James Mora
Director of Facility Services, Spring Branch ISD



  • Larry Biediger
  • Dr. Bryan J. Blonder
  • Alan Folger
  • Juan C. Garcia
  • Alicia Jimerson
  • Michelle Lilie
  • D. Scott Sullivan


Lifetime Vice Presidents Appointed to Serve as Officers in Charge:
Five Lifetime Vice Presidents were appointed to serve as one-year officers in charge with the vice presidents.

  • Mike C. Curley
  • Jeff Hayes
  • Alan Kent
  • Wendy Vandeventer
  • Sharleen Walkoviak



Twenty-nine new directors were elected to serve on the Rodeo’s board:

  • Robert Aldridge
  • Lisa Blackwood
  • Dr. Randi Boleman
  • Mary Chamberlain
  • Jay Crocker
  • Michael Diezi
  • Debi Gan
  • Ruthie Herbert
  • Tommy Jacobs
  • Michael Khushf
  • Josh Lack
  • Thomas Lewis
  • Michelle Maresh
  • James Russell McCann
  • Michael McWilliams
  • Shirley Meyer
  • Katherine Mundt Norris
  • Craig O’Sullivan
  • Todd Regalado
  • Donna Rhoades
  • Lisa Schutzenhofer
  • Alicia Smith
  • Rodger Sumicek
  • Kenneth Tann
  • Andy Thomas
  • Robert Walker
  • Jill Watson
  • Kenneth Willis
  • Kathleen Wright



In addition, four directors were honored with the status of lifetime director for their dedicated service to the Rodeo:

  • Richard Butler
  • Roxie Campbell
  • Tom Mach
  • Kevin Harris


The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo promotes agriculture by hosting an annual, family-friendly experience that educates and entertains the public, supports Texas youth, showcases Western heritage and provides year-round educational support within the community. Since its beginning in 1932, the Rodeo has committed more than $550 million to the youth of Texas and education. The 2023 Rodeo is scheduled for Feb. 28 – March 19. The 2023 World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest, presented by Cotton Holdings, is scheduled for Feb. 23 – 25. For more information, visit and connect with #RODEOHOUSTON online via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for all the latest news.

Related Content

The Rodeo Awards Houston-Area Technical Schools with $300,000 in Vocational Scholarships

The Rodeo Awards Houston-Area Technical Schools with $300,000 in Vocational Scholarships

The Rodeo Awards $1.2 Million in Achievement Scholarships to Texas College Students

The Rodeo Awards $1.2 Million in Achievement Scholarships to Texas College Students

Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Named ACM Rodeo of the Year

Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Named ACM Rodeo of the Year