2019 Super Series I Champions

by | Feb 27, 2019 | RODEOHOUSTON

RODEOHOUSTON® Super Series I Winners Saddle up for Semifinals

Competitors were at the top of their game on Wednesday, Feb. 27, as they vied for the top four spots in each RODEOHOUSTON Super Series event.



Caleb Smidt used his home town advantage to secure the win in the Tie-Down Roping during Super Series I.

Advancing to a Semifinal Round:

  • Caleb Smidt: Bellville, Texas — $6,875
  • Tyson Durfey: Millsap, Texas— $4,000
  • Trevor Brazile: Decatur, Texas — $4,000
  • Tuf Cooper: Decatur, Texas — $3,000



Jake Vold took home the win in Bareback Riding during Super Series I with three solid rides in the Series.


“It was amazing [to win],” Vold said. “This is my favorite rodeo of the year.”

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Jake Vold: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada — $9,000
  • Wyatt Denny: Minden, Nevada — $4,000
  • Clint Laye: Pocatello, Idaho — $4,000
  • Clayton Biglow: Clements, California — $875



Dustin Egusquiza and Kory Koontz won the Team Roping during Super Series I after three years of working as partners in the event.


“There’s no replacement for discipline and hard work, but loving what you do makes it easy,” Koontz said.

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Dustin Egusquiza: Mineral Wells, Texas, and Kory Koontz: Stephenville, Texas — $16,000
  • Cody Snow: Stephenville, Texas, and Wesley Thorp: Stephenville, Texas — $10,000
  • Clay Smith: Sunset, Texas, and Jake Long, Morgan, Mill, Texas — $6,000
  • Ren Richard: Roosevelt, Utah, and Quinn Kesler, Holden, Utah — $5,500



Zeke Thurston, previous Super Series winner, won the Saddle Bronc Riding and will advance to the Semifinals again. Thurston was invited to the Super Series in 2015 when another competitor dropped out in the middle of the series. He went on to win the $50,000 as a rookie.

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Zeke Thurston: Big Valley, Alberta, Canada — $4,375
  • Spencer Wright: Milford, Utah — $3,750
  • Sterling Crawley: Stephenville, Texas — $3,500
  • Chase Brooks: Belgrade, Montana — $3,000



A time of 3.8 in the third round of Super Series I secured Dakota Eldridge the Series Steer Wrestling win.


“I’ve been getting better under pressure, and I hope to have my family here for the Semifinals,” Eldridge said.

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Dakota Eldridge: Elko, Nevada — $6,000
  • Blake Knowles: Heppner, Oregon — $4,000
  • JD Struxness: Appleton, Minnesota — $3,000
  • Will Lummus: Byhalia, Mississippi — $2,750



Kaylee Gallino won the Barrel Racing in Super Series I with three consistent runs to advance to the Semifinals.

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Kaylee Gallino: Wasta, South Dakota — $6,000
  • Jessica Routier: Buffalo, South Dakota — $5,000
  • Shali Lord: Lamar, Colorado — $3,000
  • Lacinda Rose: Willard, Missouri — $2,500



Trevor Kastner won the Super Series I Bull Riding and advanced to a Semifinal round. He says that he is really enjoying doing well, and has nothing left to prove.


“It’s nice when you’re actually riding most of your bulls and actually winning,” Kastner said.

Advancing to Semifinal Round:

  • Trevor Kastner: Roff, Oklahoma — $5,500
  • JW Harris: Goldthwaite, Texas — $4,500
  • Tyler Bingham: Honeyville, Utah — $3,000
  • Eli Vastbinder: Union Grove, North Carolina — $2,750


The top four from each event, from each Super Series will advance to a Semifinal Round. The top four from each event in the Semifinal rounds will advance to the RODEOHOUSTON Super Series Championship, Saturday, March 16. The remaining six from each event in the two semifinals will compete in the Wild Card Round, Friday, March 15, where the top two from each event will advance to the Championship. Each event champion will walk away with a $50,000 payout, in addition to previous winnings. The RODEOHOUSTON Super Series includes the RODEOHOUSTON Super Shootout: North America’s Champions® presented by Crown Royal, on Saturday, March 9.

Related Content

Gearing Up for a Safer 8 Seconds

Gearing Up for a Safer 8 Seconds

2023 RODEOHOUSTON® Super Series Championship

2023 RODEOHOUSTON® Super Series Championship

2023 RODEOHOUSTON Super Series Semifinal II

2023 RODEOHOUSTON Super Series Semifinal II