Rodeo Awards $1.4 Million in Scholarships to Texas FFA Students

Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo™ Awards 70 Texas FFA Members with $1.4 Million in Scholarships

July 13, 2022

Rodeo Awards $1.4 Million in Scholarships to Texas FFA Students

Seventy Texas FFA members representing 58 FFA chapters from across Texas were presented with $1.4 million in scholarships from the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo during the 94th Annual Texas FFA State Convention in Fort Worth, Texas, on Wednesday, July 13.


Scholarship recipients were selected by Texas FFA officials based on the students’ involvement with the program, academic and FFA achievements and financial need, as well as the FFA member’s performance in an interview process. Each scholarship recipient will receive a $20,000 scholarship from the Rodeo to apply toward a four-year undergraduate degree at a Texas college or university of their choice.


“These FFA scholarships tie directly back to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo’s mission of promoting agriculture and supporting Texas youth and education, and we are so proud to support these students’ academic journeys,” said Chris Boleman, Rodeo president and CEO. “Many of these FFA scholars will actually go on to pursue a career that promotes agriculture, which makes these scholarships particularly meaningful to us at the Rodeo.”


The top four schools these students will be attending are Texas A&M University, Tarleton State University, Texas Tech University and West Texas A&M University. Of the 70 FFA scholarship recipients, the top four majors include Animal Science, Agricultural Business, Agricultural Engineering and Agricultural Communications.


The Texas FFA Association was chartered in 1929 and contributes to a model of secondary agricultural education in which students take part in classroom instruction and supervised agricultural experiences.


The FFA is an integral part of the school’s agricultural science program, guided by FFA’s mission to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.


These 70 FFA scholarships represent a portion of the Rodeo’s annual commitment of more than $22 million to support Texas youth and statewide educational programs in 2022. Additional information about the Rodeo’s educational commitment can be found here.


The Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo promotes agriculture by hosting an annual, family-friendly experience that educates and entertains the public, supports Texas youth, showcases Western heritage and provides year-round educational support within the community. Since its beginning in 1932, the Rodeo has committed more than $550 million to the youth of Texas and education. The 2023 Rodeo is scheduled for Feb. 28 – March 19. The 2023 World’s Championship Bar-B-Que Contest, presented by Cotton Holdings, is scheduled for Feb. 23 – 25. For more information, visit and connect with #RODEOHOUSTON online via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube for all the latest news.



Listed by FFA Chapter, as of July 13, 2022

Abernathy FFA
  • Charlee Chambers
  • Cash Martin
Ag Science & Tech Academy FFA
  • Calista Martinez
Anna FFA
  • Hannah Price
Anson FFA
  • Mason Hagler
Aspermont FFA
  • Payton Potts
Aubrey FFA
  • Heather Hough
Ballinger FFA
  • Grace Hoelscher
Bells FFA
  • Annie Fallon
Bellville FFA
  • Samantha Diezi
  • Morgan Hesters
  • Kylee Svinky
Brownwood FFA
  • Rylah Morgan
Burnet FFA
  • Jordon Erickson
Burton FFA
  • Tanna Thiel
Bushland FFA
  • Landon Bogan
College Station FFA
  • Braden Stutts
Decatur FFA
  • Reagan Staab
  • Hayden Taylor
Eastland FFA
  • Kynnley Herrington
  • Emily Zamora
Flatonia FFA
  • Karli Siptak
Florence FFA
  • Bryce Fisher
Floresville FFA
  • Karina Lyssy
Fredericksburg FFA
  • Faith Geistweidt
Garrison FFA
  • Rylee Blacksher
Gilmer FFA
  • Joseph Nelson
  • Sarah Warden
Harmony FFA
  • Katelyn Perryman
Harper FFA
  • Emily Seewald
  • Kylie Wolsey
Haskell FFA
  • Piper Smith
Hico FFA
  • Elizabeth Barr
Jacksboro FFA
  • Kobe Thomas
Jourdanton FFA
  • Aiden Guzman
  • Madilyn Vick
Judson FFA
  • Vanessa Bell
Kaufman FFA
  • Kylie Hartley
Klondike FFA
  • David Boschman
La Vernia FFA
  • William Secrest
Lindsay FFA
  • Stephen Fuhrmann
Livingston FFA
  • Kaylie Campbell
Madisonville FFA
  • Mackenzie Foster
Marion FFA
  • Kyla Beck
  • Trenton Mills
Medina Valley FFA
  • Hannah Vierling
  • Kiley Winkler
New Caney FFA
  • Shelbi Loving
Perrin FFA
  • Tyce Lambert
Poteet FFA
  • Julia Smith
Riesel FFA
  • Wyatt Drews
Royal FFA
  • Alondra Melendez
Samuel Clemens – Cibolo Creek FFA
  • Laney Ferrell
Santo FFA
  • Michael Tallant
Seminole FFA
  • Zoee Nolen
Sinton FFA
  • Landon Southern
Snyder FFA
  • Avery Schiffner
Spring Branch FFA
  • John Perez
Stamford FFA
  • Tylee Bevel
Sweetwater FFA
  • Addison Page
Taylor – Katy FFA
  • Zoe BeDell
  • Kristen Justilian
Tilden FFA
  • Charity Harris
  • Makenzie Sherrer
Tomball FFA
  • Garrett Rucker
Tomball Memorial FFA
  • Owen Parker
Troy FFA
  • Taylor Melikan
Veribest FFA
  • Connor Pence
Weimar FFA
  • Dondrae Carter
Wellington FFA
  • Madison Waters